Site Tools


在Rhino 5执行大型组织

或:何时利用连结的图块? 何时利用分工作业(worksessions)附加文件?

概要

本白皮书描述了Rhino 5让一个团队执行大型项目的功能。策略就是将项目分成多个文件,并善用图块与附加文件。

插入图块与附加参考文件

Rhino有两种方法可以将多个文件包括在一个单一场景:插入连结的图块以及附加参考模型。 起初他们看起来很类似,但可以解决不同的问题。

插入图块至物件数据库

利用插入图块的功能将数据库里的物件加入您的模型。例如您可以绕着会议桌插入10次会议椅子的图块。利用图块降低用来表现物件的存储器的使用,并且很容易可以替换为另一种风格的会议椅。

在主模型中插入图块

连结的图块能够用来将大型项目的元素合并到一个主要文件。 在此情况下,任何连结文件中的几何都不用修改。连结的几何是渲染、动画或2D绘图生产的几何资料来源。

当几何以连结图块的方式插入,而图层状态设为作用中,能够在所有作用中的图层属性中作变更。 不管底下连结的几何或是图块,这些图层的更改都会储存在主模型。这允许主模型可以在整个项目的生命周期中被使用。

以附加文件覆盖几何

在积极建模项目中某个元素的同时,你也许想要将计划中某部分的几何覆盖。我们可能可以利用连结的图块来覆盖外观上的几何形状,但连结信息是储存在作用中的模型。想象一下如果使用者希望在建筑物的外观上作业,但需要内装墙壁信息供参考。如果内墙是由连结的图块插入的,另一个使用者只需要建筑外部参考时,也会同时得到内部墙壁的信息。 (选项:在独立图层插入连结图块,那么这个图层就是图块参考图层。 如果参考图层处于关闭状态,那么整个图块就不会显示。) 建立永久连结会增加整体项目组职的复杂性。

为了解决这一个问题,Rhino允许您附加一个或多个档。附加文件以唯读覆盖几何的方式被读取至场景。所有附加的文件并不储存于作用中的模型,只有附属图层属性之下的子集更能够被修改:能见度、被锁定、颜色与打印颜色。 原始附加文件永远对应原始的作用模型,附加文件总是会显示完整大小。 为了保持两个建模分工作业之间的覆盖状态,可以储存一个分工作业(worksession)文件 (.RWS)。 分工作业文件内储存了目前作用模型的路径以及其他附加模型、几何图形所参考的修改图层状态以及当前视图。

分工作业文件并不是设计来分享的,它们的功能是在几何延伸至许多其他文件时,能够纪录个别使用者状态。

工作范例

项目

这个项目的主要目的是在一个越来越多人的大学开发一个停车场。 在这个场地将有两栋建筑物:咖啡厅与行政大楼。 有着喷泉的庭院将会是这里的重点,地下停车场能够加倍目前的停车数量。

Zeichnenspass建筑团队

  • Matt是负责处理每个元素3D建模的初级建筑师。
  • Paul负责水管管线配置。
  • David负责起草编制合约。
  • Fabio是渲染与动画专家,在整个过程中将负责动画以及设计的渲染。

任务

每个团队成员都身负不同任务,每个任务也需要不同的工具。

咖啡厅外观建模

建模过程由Matt为每栋建筑物建模开始。Matt积极的为建筑物外观建模,他将为建筑物建立新的模型,并附加上任何他在建模时进行覆盖的任何文件。

Matt建立Coffee Shop - Exterior.3并附加Site.3dm。他不需要看到Site.3dm文件的大部分图层,所以把所有图层都关掉只留下底图层。接下来他把底图层转成浅灰色,所以在模型上看起来不会太突出。 因为建立一个模型外观通常需要花几天的时间,Matt将他的附加文件以分工作业的方式存到计算机里。没有必要将这个短暂存在的资料存进网络的项目资料里,只会让共同使用者混淆而已。

咖啡厅内部建模

外部建模之后,Matee开始建立咖啡厅内部的模型。 他将建立一个新的模型并命名为 Interior.3dm。 Matee决定要用不同的分工作业i档来建立这个内部模型,因为他想要使用不同附加文件里不同图层的颜色。 Matt 附加上Coffee Shop - Exterior.3dm文件,并保存Coffee Shop - Interior.rws档。

咖啡厅有两个厕所。这两间厕所的卫生设备是相同的,但在各自模型中有多个洗手盆与马桶。 为了能够轻松对样式进行更改,Matt加入Toilet.3dm以及Sink.3dm模型,并加上连结图块。Matt只要利用BlockManager指令就可以改变马桶现有样式。

建立其他建筑物的模型

工地上其余的结构建模,大概都依循着建立咖啡厅的原则。 只要结构外部一完成,初步渲染就可以开始。

外部渲染

只要工地与建筑物外部完成,Fabio可以开始设置渲染及动画厂警。 Fabio想要控制材质内内容、已储存视图以及渲染环境,即使其他人也能够改变这个每个建筑的信息。

Fabil建立一个新的模型文件并命名为Master Rendering.3dm,并且将Site.3dmCoffee Shop - Exterior.3dmCourtyard - Fountain.3dmCourtyard - Path.3dmAdministrative - Exterior.3dm以及Garage - Entry.3dm等文件做成连结图块。 这些连结的图块会以Layer Style(图层形式)的方式存在,并设定为Active (使用中)。

插入图层样式设置开启的图块,允许Fabio可以控制每个图层的材质内容而毋需修改原始模型。这表示团队里的其他人员,能够继续在这些模型上工作,Fabio还是可以继续调整材质并进行最后渲染。

最初Fabio想到附加参考档,并且为此项目储存一个分工作业。后来他决定不这么做,因为他希望所有渲染材质信息都在一个它可控制的文件里 - Master Rendering.3dm - ,而不是含在许多几何图形的模型内。这让Fabio可以控制渲染的特性,而且让其他使用者也可以自行渲染他们需要的文件。

注: Zeichenespass团队设立了一套制图标准,包括文件与图层的命名都要配合团队使用的图块与分工作业。例如所有外部窗户都放在一个命名为Fenestration的图层里。当所有连结图块都汇入Fabio的总渲染模型,这层单一纪录开窗的图层包含了模型里所有有关窗户的几何。 要改变所有的文件中的任何外部玻璃设定变得很容易,因为所有的玻璃都在同一个图层里。

Fabio在总渲染模型中建立命名的视图、设置Bongo路径动画以及太阳研究动画。当整个计划越趋于完成,Fabio可以开启总渲染模型,而且较容易产出更新的渲染与动画效果。

建立生产图纸

生产图纸的布局就像利用连结图块的外部渲染。要建立咖啡厅的图纸,David建立一个Master Drawings - Coffee Shop.3dm文件,为了每个此绘图需要的模型,启动汇入图层形式的连结图块。

每一页绘图的图纸配置都储存在咖啡厅的绘图设计模型里。这些图纸配置包含额外尺寸、打印宽度的图层形式、直线类型以及打印颜色。

经由汇入连结图块,David可以在别的组员对模型做出更改时,继续绘图工作。

管线详情

由附加文件来完成管线详细图层,因为修改模型时还需要参考其他文件里的几何信息。 Paul建立了一个新的模型并命名为Coffee Shop - Plumning.3dm,并附加Coffee Shop - Exterior以及Coffee Shop - Interior。 电路及暖通空调的详细情形也会在类似的步骤情况下完成。

最后的补充

规划与标准对于一个成功的组织项目来说非常重要。将一个庞大的计划案分割成几个文件,让使用者可以同时使用,而不用因为另有使用者锁定文件而工作进度受到影响。但太多的文件表示要经常切换到分工作业,会耗费许多时间也很令人烦躁。

zh/rhino5vstatus/large_project_organization.txt · Last modified: 2020/05/14 by jessesn

Site Tools


Large Project Organization in Rhino 5

Or: When to use linked blocks and when to attach files using worksessions.

Overview

This whitepaper describes the features in Rhino 5 that enable a team of people to work on a large project together. The strategy is to divide the project into multiple files and use both blocks and attached files appropriately.

Inserting blocks versus attaching reference files

Rhino has two ways to include multiple files in a single scene: inserting linked blocks and attaching reference models. At first they seem similar, but they solve different problems.

Inserting blocks for part libraries

Use block insertion to include parts from a library in your model. For example, you may insert a conference chair block 10 times around a conference table. Using blocks reduces the amount of memory used to represent the objects and makes it easy to replace one style of conference chair with another.

Inserting linked blocks in master models

Linked blocks can be used to combine elements of a project into a master file. In this scenario, none of the geometry in any of the linked files needs modified. The linked geometry is source geometry for rendering, animation, or 2-D drawing production.

When geometry is inserted as Linked Blocks with Layer State set to Active, changes can be made to all active layer properties. These layer changes are saved in the master model and are applied regardless of changes to the underlying geometry and layers in the linked blocks. This allows the master model to be reused throughout the project lifecycle.

Attaching files to overlay geometry

While actively modeling an element of the project, you may need to overlay geometry from another part of the project. It is possible to use linked blocks to overlay this external geometry, but linking information is saved within the active model. Imagine working on the building exterior but wanting interior walls for reference. If the interior walls were inserted as linked blocks, another user wanting to reference only the building exterior would also get interior walls. (Option: The linked block can be inserted on a unique layer and this layer is called the block reference layer. If the reference layer is turned off, the entire block does not be display.) Creating permanent links increases the organizational complexity of the project.

To solve this problem, Rhino lets you attach one or more files. The attached file is read into the scene as read-only overlay geometry. Information about attached files is not saved in the active model, and only a subset of attached layer properties can be modified: visibility, locked, color, and print color. The origin of the attached file will always correspond to the origin of the active model, and the attached file always displays full size. To maintain the overlay state between modeling sessions, a worksession file (.RWS) can be saved. The worksession file stores the path to the active model and any attached models, the modified layer states for referenced geometry, and the current views.

Worksession files are not designed to share with others. They are designed to keep track of an individual user’s state while working with projects that have geometry spread across many files.

A working example

The project

The goal of this project is to develop a parking lot at a growing university. On the site will be two buildings: a coffee bar and an administrative building. A courtyard with a fountain will be the focus of the property, and an underground parking garage doubles the parking capacity of the existing lot.

The Zeichnenspass Architecture Team

  • Matt is a junior architect responsible for 3D modeling of each element.
  • Paul will do the plumbing layout.
  • David is the production drafter responsible for producing the contract documentation.
  • Fabio is a rendering and animation specialist that will produce animations and still renderings of the design as it progresses.

The tasks

Each team member has a different job to do. Each job requires a different set of tools.

Modeling the coffee shop exterior

The modeling process begins with Matt modeling each building. Because Matt is actively modeling the building exterior, he will create a new model for each building and attach any files that he needs to overlay during modeling.

Matt creates Coffee Shop – Exterior.3dm and attaches Site.3dm. Matt doesn’t need to see most of the layers in the Site.3dm file, so he turns all but the Ground layer off. He changes the color of the Ground layer to light gray so that it is less prominent visually while he models. Since it takes several days to model the exterior, Matt saves the state of his attached files in a worksession file on his local computer. There is no need to save this transient information in the project folder on the network, as that just clutters the files that everyone sees.

Modeling the coffee shop interior

After modeling the exterior, Matt will switch to modeling the interior of the coffee shop. He’ll create a new model called Coffee Shop – Interior.3dm. Matt has decided to use a different worksession file to model the interior because he wants to have different files attached and different layer colors for the attached files. Matt attaches Coffee Shop – Exterior.3dm and saves Coffee Shop – Interior.rws.

The coffee shop has two restrooms. The plumbing fixtures are the same in both restrooms, but there are multiple sinks and toilets in each model. To make it easy to change the style or vendor of each fixture, Matt inserts the Toilet.3dm and Sink.3dm models as linked blocks. To change the toilet style, Matt uses the BlockManager command to replace the existing block definition with a different one.

Modeling other buildings

Modeling the rest of the structures on the site follows the same organizational principles as the coffee shop. Once the exterior of each structure is complete, preliminary exterior renderings can begin.

Rendering the exterior

Once the site and the building exteriors are complete, Fabio can set up scenes for rendering and walk-through animations. Fabio wants to have control of the material properties, saved views, and rendering environment even if other people change the information for each building.

Fabio creates a new model file called Master Rendering.3dm and inserts linked blocks for the files Site.3dm, Coffee Shop – Exterior.3dm, Courtyard – Fountain.3dm, Courtyard – Paths.3dm, Administrative - Exterior.3dm, and Garage - Entry.3dm as linked blocks. All of the linked blocks are inserted with Layer Style set to Active.

Inserting the blocks with Layer Style set to Active allows Fabio to control the material properties of each layer without having to modify the original model. This means that other members of the team can continue working on those models while Fabio tweaks materials and develops the final renderings.

Initially Fabio thought about attaching reference files and saving a worksession for this project. He decided not to because he wanted all the rendering material information to be in a file he controls – Master Rendering.3dm – instead of the models that contain the geometry. This allows Fabio to control the rendering attributes for his needs, while making it possible for other users to make their own renderings of each file as they need.

Note: The Zeichnenspass team has developed a set of drawing standards. These drawing standards include file and layer naming schemes that dovetail with the team’s use of blocks and worksessions. For example, all exterior windows are placed on a layer named Fenestration. When the linked blocks are inserted into Fabio’s Master Rendering model, a single fenestration layer contains all the geometry from all the fenestration layers in the inserted models. Changing the exterior glass across all files is easy because all the glass is on one layer.

Fabio creates named views, sets up Bongo path animations, and creates sun study animation sequences all within the Master Rendering model. As the project becomes more and more complete, Fabio can open the Master Rendering model, and easily produce updated sets of renderings and animations.

Creating production drawings

Production drawings are laid out much like the exterior renderings using linked blocks. To create the drawing set for the coffee shop, David creates a Master Drawings - Coffee Shop.3dm file, and inserts Linked Blocks with Layer Style set to Active for every model required to do the drawing set.

Layouts for each drawing sheet are saved in the coffee shop – drawing set model. These layouts may contain additional dimensions, layer styles for print width, line type, and print color.

By inserting linked blocks, David is able to work on the drawing set while changes are made by other members of the team.

Plumbing details

Detailing the plumbing layout is achieved by attaching files because one model needs to be modified while geometry from other files is needed for reference. Paul creates a new model called Coffee Shop – Plumbing.3dm and attaches Coffee Shop – Exterior and Coffee Shop – Interior. The electrical and HVAC detailing could be done in much the same way.

Final thoughts

Planning and standards are required to successfully organize projects. It is important that the project be broken into enough separate files that users can work concurrently on the project without being hindered by another user having the file locked. But having too many files can mean constantly switching the active model in a worksession, which can be both time consuming and irritating.

rhino5vstatus/large_project_organization.txt · Last modified: 2015/09/14 (external edit)