Site Tools


關於建立及利用STL檔案快速成型的應用程式

  • 3D列印前STL檔案的準備 - 使用曲面建模程式時,只有那些形成一個封閉物件的曲面能夠被3D列印。 就是STL檔案的描述,才能將封閉曲面模型轉換成實體。本教學說明如何準備將3D列印的STL檔。
  • 修復STL檔案 - Tutorial by McNeel的修復STL檔案教學(Rhino3)。

什麼是STL檔案?

STL檔是標準化的電腦交換檔案,其中包含了一個3D模型。這個檔案中物件曲面的表現形式是一個或多個多邊形網格。STL檔裡的網格完全都由三角形組成。

STL這個名稱取自其附檔名,.stl,因為最初這種檔案的目的是為了一種叫做Stereolithography的快速成形的過程。這種檔案格式變成一種程式之 間交換3D網格物件的世界標準,而.stl現在被用於幾乎所有快速成形的輸入模式。 幾乎所有3D程式都能夠匯出STL檔,也幾乎都接受STL的匯入。

網格模型以及精確度

網格表現出來的物件是多面的,它們可能表面並不光滑平順,但由許多小面組成,如果夠細緻的話就可以呈現出某種程度精確度的平滑表面。 有點像2D影像其實是由許多細小的點組成的(像素)。

如果網格模型中各個面太粗糙或者產生了太多角度,那麼外觀看起來也就會粗糙且缺乏精確度。在2D的模式中就代表影像解析度不夠,會造成顆粒粗大的外觀(可以看到像素的雜點)。

如果網格模型中的每個面都很精細,那麼曲面看起來也會很不錯,但這個模型就會含有大量的數據而且檔案很大,可能會對生成或接收的程式造成影響,也會影響到螢幕上的顯示。 我們的目標是建立一個有足夠準確及解析度結果的STL檔,但不會造成一個太精細龐大的模型。最佳解析度取決於用什麼樣的處理過程。

一方面來說,網格的精確度指的是曲面的多面網格呈現方式或是平滑曲面之間,能夠容許的最大的不同。 對於完全由平面組成的物件,這不是一個問題,因為每個面都跟表面一致對應。 但對於曲面而言,三角形並不一定完全服貼於表面上,所以接近度就變得非常重要。

用於建模的快速成形過程會決定模型的精確度以及公差。 越粗糙的過程如FDM,可以成功使用低精確度的模型,而不像能夠處理精細加工過程的機器。 一般模型的精確度目標大概是小於(1/10大小)的數級。 FDM可以再現0.1mm的細節,STL檔的精密度大概是0.01mm。 加工可以生產0.01mm或更細的精確度,所以能夠做到0.001mm或更細緻的STL是必須的。

由於STL整個都是用三角形組成的,是最簡單的網格模型格式。模型的每一面都是需要的平面。原則上快速成形需要完全封閉的物件,也就是說網格完全包覆一個體積,沒有孔洞也沒有縫隙或重疊的地方。有時候我們說這種叫做水密(watertight)實體。還有就是,有些處理過程需要的檔案中只能包含一個物件(體積)。

在實際操作中是允許一些落差的。像縫隙之類的小錯誤對一些快速成形程式是可以忍受或是能夠修復的。 每個處理過程以及程式操作執行方式都不一樣。 有些程式比其他更能夠容許小錯誤。所以一般情況下我們追求100%完美的封閉模型,否則依據製作原型的程式以及處理程序的過程有可能會變得非常耗費時間。

從Rhino 模型建立STL檔

Rhino模型是由精確計算的光滑曲線與NURBs曲面(非一致有理B雲形線)所組成的。這些模型必須被轉換為(近似)三角形的網格,才被匯出為stl檔。 Rhino的自訂網格設置框的數值便決定了轉換的準確度。最重要的設定是邊緣至曲面最大距離,這決定了於表面繪製網格的距離(還有光滑度與準確度)。

要快速成形,很重要的是Rhino曲面模型必須是一個封閉的體積(封閉的有效曲面或網格)。就算已經是封閉的物件,在某些情況下的網格轉換中還是會發現開口或是縫隙。一般說來這些都是很容易修復的錯誤,直接在Rhino裡改就可以。 如果可以重新匯入STL至Rhino,並重新檢查邊緣,沒有發現任何縫隙或開口,那麼您就完成了!

如果有一些需要修復的邊緣,您可以利用V3或V4的網格工具。 MatchMeshEdge、AlignMeshVertices、UnifyMeshNormals等指令很有用。您也可以建立或刪除個別的網格面。一旦修復完成就可以重新繪出網格為新的STL檔案。您也可以在Rhino將模型網格化,網格自訂設定和STL匯出是相同的。請參考網格常見問題

匯出網格設定

我們建議您使用自訂/詳細的設定來產生網格模型,或是匯出STL檔。不同處理過程需要一組不同的設定。以下是一些快速成形常用的設定:

(請將您的設定與我們分享!)

Stereolithography

SLS

FDM (Stratasys)

Polyjet 列表機 (物件)

Z-Corp machine

Solidscape Wax printer

Invision

Etc.

我發現了一組FDM使用上很合理的設定:

最大角度: 30

邊緣至曲面最大距離 0.01

起始四角網格面的最小數目 16

其他 0

調整(Refine) 勾選

其他 不勾選


利用Solidscape t66列印珠寶(戒指),我發現一組設定,單位為毫米。(不要將這組設定用在大型模型上)

最小邊緣長度:0.02

最大邊緣長度:0.3到0.6 (0.3較費時,但值得等待)

邊緣至曲面最大距離:0.001到0.005 (0.001較費時,但值得等待)

其他設定 = 0

調整(Refine) 勾選

其他 不勾選


zh-tw/rhino/stlinfo.txt · Last modified: 2016/09/10 by yoko

Site Tools


Information about creating and using STL files for Rapid Prototyping applications

  • STL File preparation for 3D printing - When using a surface modeling program, only surfaces that form a closed object can be 3D printed. Convert the closed surface model into a solid object, which is described by the STL file. This tutorial helps you prepare your STL file for 3D printing.
  • Repair STL files - Tutorial by McNeel to repair STL files.

What is an STL?

An STL, or Standard Template Library, is a standardized computer exchange file which contains a 3D model. The representation of the surfaces of the objects in the file is in the form of one or more polygon meshes. The meshes in an STL file are entirely composed of triangular facets.

The name STL is taken from its extension, .stl, originally because the files were intended for a rapid prototyping process called Stereolithography. The file format has become a world standard for exchanging 3D mesh type objects between programs, and .stl’s are now used as input for virtually all rapid prototyping processes, as well as some 3D machining. Nearly all 3D programs can export an STL and most can import them.

Mesh models and precision

Mesh representations of objects are faceted, i.e. they are not smooth, but composed of an array of small faces which, if fine enough, can represent smooth surfaces with a given degree of accuracy. This is similar to how what appears to be a smooth 2D image is actually composed of many tiny discreet dots (pixels).

If the individual facets in a mesh model are too coarse or there is too much of an angle between them, the model appearance will be rough, and it will lack precision. The parallel to this in the 2D world is an image whose resolution is not fine enough, resulting in a grainy look. (You can actually distinguish the individual dots.)

If the individual facets in a mesh model are too fine, the surface representation will generally be good, but the model will be data heavy and the file large. This may cause problems with the generating or receiving software, as well as the visual display on the screen. The goal is to create an STL model with enough accuracy and resolution for the final process, without going too far and making the model too fine. The best resolution will depend on what that process is to be.

In one way, mesh precision may be thought of as the greatest difference allowed between the faceted mesh representation of the surfaces and the smooth surfaces themselves. For objects composed of planar surfaces, this is not a problem. The facets will correspond exactly with the surfaces. For curved surfaces, the triangles will not necessarily lie entirely on the surface. So the degree of approximation becomes important.

The prototyping process used to create the final object determines the optimum level of precision and tolerance required for the model. Rougher processes like FDM can successfully use models with lower tolerances (lower precision) than something like a machining process which is capable of very fine detail. In general, the precision target of the model should be around one order of magnitude smaller than (1/10 the size of) the maximum precision of the process. For FDM, which can reproduce about 0.1mm detail, an STL with .01 is good. For machining, which can reproduce .01mm and finer, an STL precision of .001 or finer is necessary.

Since an STL mesh is composed entirely of triangles, it is the simplest form of mesh model format. Each facet is by necessity planar. In principle, rapid prototyping processes require completely closed objects. The mesh completely encloses a volume, with no holes, gaps, or overlaps. We sometimes speak of this as a watertight solid. Also, some processes require that there is only one object (volume) in the file.

In actual practice, some tolerance is allowed. Small errors or gaps may be tolerated by the prototyping software, or can be quickly repaired. Each process and software will work differently. Some are more error-tolerant than others. So, in general it is best to aim for a perfect 100% closed model. Otherwise, depending on who is doing the prototyping and what process is being used, it may be time consuming (read: expensive) to fix.

Creating STLs from Rhino models

Rhino models are created with mathematically determined smooth curves and surfaces called NURBs (Non Uniform Rational Basis Splines). These surface models need to be translated into (approximated by) triangular meshes to be exported via STL. The values in Rhino's custom mesh settings box determine the translation's accuracy. The most important setting is the maximum distance edge to surface setting, which determines how close the mesh is drawn over the surface (and how smooth and accurate it will be).

For RP purposes it is very important that the Rhino surface model be a closed volume (closed valid surface or polysurface). Even when it is, under some conditions the mesh translation of the object may be open or have gaps somewhere. In general, these are minor and usually easily repaired, often directly in Rhino. It is a good idea to reimport your STL into Rhino and check for naked edges. If none are found, great! – You’re done.

If there are a few naked edges, you can usually use the V3 bonus mesh tools or V4 mesh tools to fix them. Commands like MatchMeshEdge, AlignMeshVertices and UnifyMeshNormals are useful. You can also go in and create or delete individual mesh faces. Once fixed, you can re-export the mesh as a new STL. Otherwise, you can just mesh your model in Rhino, check and edit it if necessary, and then export the mesh as an STL. The custom settings for Mesh and STL export are the same. See the Mesh FAQ page for more info on meshing.

Export mesh settings

We recommend that you use the custom/detailed settings to produce your mesh model or export STL. Each process will have a different group of settings. Below is a listing of settings people have found useful for various RP processes:

(Please contribute your settings. We can format them later!)

Stereolithography

SLS

FDM (Stratasys)

Polyjet printer (Objet)

Z-Corp machine

Solidscape Wax printer

Invision

Etc.

For FDM use, I have found a reasonable group of settings are:

Max angle: 30

Max dist edge to srf 0.01

Initial grid quads 16

All others 0

Refine checked

All others unchecked.

__________________

For Jewelery (rings) printing on a Solidscape t66 I found a simple set of settings. Units are millimeters. (Don't use these settings on big models!):

Min Edge length: 0.02

Max Edge Length: 0.3 to 0.6 (0.3 takes longer, but is worth it)

Max dist edge to srf 0.001 to 0.005 (0.001 takes longer, but is also worth it)

All other settings = 0

Refine checked

All others unchecked

Later

Evert

_________________

rhino/stlinfo.txt · Last modified: 2015/09/14 (external edit)