Site Tools


白皮書:IGES

Rhinoceros® IGES檔的疑難排解

註:本文件解說原本只針對Rhino V2的工具,雖然這些工具仍出現在Rhino V3,V4及V5,您可能已經發展出不同技術來修復麻煩的檔案。請在此分享您的經驗與技巧。 - John Brock

利用Rhino為IGES檔排解疑難

Rhino檔案轉換並清理寫得不好的IGES檔案的功能非常強大。您可能已經收到,您的客戶或供應商從實體建模程式讀入的不正確的IGES檔。 通常這是由格式不正確的IGES檔、消失或是重複的曲面、縫隙或重耊、錯誤的曲面修剪資訊所造成。

在修復過程中沒有任何放寬公差可以自動修復這些問題。經過漫長等待後您得到了未完成的實體、消失的曲面,或者什麼也沒有看到。 您需要的結果取決於匯入並使用這些數據,這時候該怎麼辦?

Rhino具有能夠克服這些問題的工具。只要一點練習與解決問題的能力,您可以將這些問題解決,竟將數據匯入您的實體建模程式。所需時間與努力取決於碰到的問題以及IGES檔的大小。

還好,只要稍加練習,大部分的IGES檔案都能夠被快速的修復。不過當然也有些問題需要花上數天的時間,但只要有Rhino,您就有工具修復最困難的IGES檔案問題,並且繼續進行您的工作計畫。

由於Rhino是支援實體的曲面建模程式,所以並不需要IGES資料組成的封閉實體。 Rhino會盡量讀取模型中的有效資訊,也就是讀取所有的點、曲線、曲面的數據並跳過損壞的物件。 Rhino通常在IGES匯入過程便自動讀取並修復問題,使用者只需要另存新的IGE檔並讀進應用程式中即可。如果並未自動修復,可以利用Rhino替換消失的曲面、修復失敗的修剪曲線,平撫斷續的曲面,並且匯出一個實體模型至您的應用程式。

一般來說,您可以挽救大部分IGES檔案中的資料。但有時候您沒有選擇,只能改變檔案裡的某些部份。就算在最極端的案例中,Rhino還是有工具可以獲取isoparms、選取斷面以及能夠替換無法使用的曲面並保留原始設計的邊緣曲線。

一般對策

修復IGES檔案的一般對策取決於每一個不同的檔案,假以時日您會發現特定產生IGES檔的程式,或不同使用者所造成的IGES檔案問題模式。

修復IGES檔案指南

  1. 開啟IGES檔。
  2. 隱藏或刪除額外的數據資料 - 利用SelDup指令找到重複的實體並將多餘的一次移到另一個圖層,並將其關閉。稍後您可能還是需要用到它們。
  3. 利用SelCrv以及SelPt來選取以及隱藏曲線與點。 - 利用 SelSrf選取所有的曲面,再進行反選。這會將任何曲線或點凸顯出來,刪除不在曲面或接近曲面的曲線。請仔細檢查曲面上剩餘的曲線,這些可能是剩下的不完整修剪曲線。將它們移到另一個圖層供以後使用。這樣留在螢幕上留下的就只是曲面了。
  4. 使用Shade模式以及目視檢驗模型- 是如您想像那樣嗎? 是否有明顯缺少曲面? 曲面有超出至它們應該到的位置嗎? 可以用來修復它們的修剪曲線有可能已經儲存在步驟3。
  5. 檢驗壞掉的曲面- 用CheckSelBadObjects指令確認在模型中的某些曲面是否定義上有問題。 它們可能有控制點堆疊、壞掉的邊緣曲線或是其他問題。 將這些曲面移到一個壞掉曲面的圖層,稍後清除掉。
  6. 在檔案屬性中檢視單位以及建模絕對公差的設定 - 這些數據合理嗎? 大部分產生IGES的程式都需要使用者自行設定,否則沒有辦法與單位及公差設定符合匹配。 Rhino在匯出過程中會自動匹配設定。自由造型曲面建模需要建模智能容限妥協。NURBs 曲線是一連串多項式表達段落,再由段落之間乘載連續數據的節點所組成。公差值越嚴格,曲線更複雜,那麼系統性能就會受到影響。但計算合宜公差值高密度曲線是沒有用的,如果您下游廠商不支援的話。
  7. 組合曲面 - 組合時,相鄰邊會被標記如果他們都在某特定建模公差範圍內。如果它們在公差範圍之外,就不會被組合。 組合這個動作並不會改變幾何的結構,只是標記夠接近符合的邊緣。看看指令列的結果,您有得到想要數量的多邊形曲面嗎? 有時匯入IGES檔案後會出現雙重曲面,通常其中一個是完整的,另一個會缺少內部修剪。所以當組合(Join)的時候您無法控制選擇哪兩個曲面。如果你覺得正面臨這樣的問題,嘗試組合兩個裸露邊緣。如果附近應該有裸露邊緣但並未出現,請將結合動作復原(undo),並且選擇複製曲面。將比較不完整的曲面刪除後,再試著組合。
  8. 查看是否有裸露邊緣 - 裸露邊緣就是未與其他組合的邊緣。 在組合的過程中,他們特定建模公差距離還要更遠。 有可能是一開始的建模造成如此粗糙的品質,或者是因為匯入IGES檔中有個錯誤的公差設定、或是雙重曲面等。 如果執行ShowNakedEdges指令時出現很裸露邊緣,試試看回復組合程序,並且放寬絕對公差。有可能原始建模的公差放得比較寬鬆,而匯出設定並不確實。 註:沒有實際重構模型是無法改善曲面間的適當公差的。
  9. 組合裸露邊緣或是重新建模 - 組合裸露邊緣可能是好壞參半的事,這是一個抉擇,並且有可能造成下游的問題。如果您組合邊緣的目的是稍後匯入一個實體或網格操作,如STL檔案,那麼JoinEdge指令通常不會造成任何問題。 但如果您將會切割範圍以及大部分的曲線採取,那麼切割範圍在碰到超出公差時組合的裸露邊緣,就會出現縫隙。 要跨距的縫隙在組合前就已經顯示。如果縫隙比您的兩倍公差設定還要少,那請放心進行後續操作吧。如果縫隙太大太寬,請編輯或是重新建立曲面來減少縫隙。JoinJoinEdge並不會改變曲面幾何結構,他們只對相符的邊緣做出明確標示,而且需要特定或是重新定義公差。
  10. 修復壞掉的曲面 - 一次修理一個壞掉的曲面就好了,然後將它們加入主要多邊形。以下為破壞性最小、最激進、以及造成失敗的問題列表:
    1. 重建邊緣
    2. 分開修剪曲線並重新裁剪
    3. 重新建立曲面
    4. 替換曲面 - 從周圍曲面採取邊緣、從壞掉的曲面中切出工作範圍,用收集來的曲線來建立替代壞掉的曲面。
  11. 查看是否有壞掉的物件 -有時候檢查過的組合曲面,結果是在失敗的多邊形曲面裡。 通常這是邊緣中的細小片段,或是比建模公差還要短的修剪曲線。提取連續曲面,檢視它們,編輯邊界曲線並消除那些細小片段,再連結回去。當得到一個封閉多邊形曲面,並通過檢視並無其他裸露邊緣,就表示工作完成了! 在組合以及固定曲面的過程中,時常執行檢視會是一個很有用的方法。
  12. 匯出 - 現在您已經清理並修復IGES檔,已經可以輸出為IGES、Parasolid、STEP或ACIS等檔案以匯入您的應用程式。 這些不同格式各有差異,程式支援的程度也各有差異。 實驗這些支援的程式並找出最適合您需要的。

從一個乾淨的檔開始

有句老話這麼說 預防重於治療 ,這句話也適合用在IGES檔上。如果可以的話花點時間在原始應用程式中樞出一個乾淨的檔案。這會省去後續大量的清理工作,很可惜的並不總是能這麼順利。有兩種常見的建立IGES數據資料的程式 - CATIA以及Pro/Engineer。以下程序與設定將IGES匯入其他程式的麻煩降到最低。

CATIA

以改進修剪曲線來準備模型並從CATIA輸出,以下為我們的客戶(Black & Decker/DeWalt)在CATIA內執行使用的步驟,以降低下游的清理工作。

1. 要準備轉移的模型,從Volume開始下手。

 SOLID + EXTRACT + VOLUME

2. 清理模型並忽略所有無關的幾何。

 KEEP + SELECT + GEOMETRY + ELEMENT 並選取"VOLUME"。

3. 重新計算邊界曲線:將NO-SHOW裡的舊邊界提取出來。

 ERASE + NOSHOW  YES:SWAP. 鍵入 **SPC - **SUR 及 YES:SWAP  to reture.

4. ERASE並鍵入SPC- VOL

5. CURVE1 + BOUNDARY 並且鍵入 *FAC

6. 執行/CLN 來檢查錯誤。

7. 模型現在已經準備好做IGES的輸出了。

Pro/Engineer

將Pro/E 檔案最佳化輸出至files into Rhino

在Pro/Econfig.pro檔利用以下設定,或者在輸出前另存為rhino.pro 檔。

{@ IGES_OUT_ALL_SRFS_AS 128

IGES_OUT_SPL_CRVS_AS_126 YES

IGES_OUT_SPL_SRFS_AS_128 YES

IGES_OUT_TRIM_XYZ YES

IGES_OUT_MIL_D_28000 NO

IGES_OUT_TRM_SRFS_AS_143 NO

IGES_OUT_TRIM_CURVE_DEVIATION DEFAULT

INTF_OUT_BLANKED_ENTITIES NO

INTF3D_OUT_EXTEND_SURFACE YES

INTF3D_OUT_FORCE_SURF_NORMALS YES

IGES_IN_106_F2_AS_SPLINE NO

IGES_IN_DWG_LINE_FONT YES

IGES_IN_DWG_PNT_ENT YES

IGES_IN_DWG_COLOR YES

FIX_BOUNDARIES_ON_IMPORT YES

Pro/E file exchange


成功將Rhino檔案與Pro/E交換的資訊。

Softimage 檔的轉換


成功將Rhino檔案與Softimage轉換的資訊。

SOLIDWORKS IGES 檔案轉換


成功將Rhino檔案與SOLIDWORKS轉換

zh-tw/rhino/troubleshootingiges.txt · Last modified: 2018/02/06 by yoko_kadotani

Site Tools


White Paper: IGES

Troubleshooting IGES Files with Rhinoceros®

Note: This document was originally put together using the tools available in Rhino V2. While these tools remain in Rhino V3 and V4, you may have developed different techniques for repairing troublesome IGES files. Please share those techniques here. - John Brock

Use Rhino to troubleshoot IGES files

One powerful use of Rhino’s file translation ability is to clean up poorly written IGES files. You may have received IGES files from your clients or suppliers that do not read properly into your solid based modeling application. Often this is the result of an improperly formatted IGES file, missing or duplicate surfaces, gaps or overlaps, or bad surface trimming information.

No amount of relaxed tolerances in the healing process can automatically fix these problems. After a long wait, you end up with incomplete solids, missing surfaces, or perhaps nothing at all. Your job depends on importing and using this data. What do you do?

Rhino has the basic tools needed to overcome all these problems. With a little practice and good problem solving skills, you can repair these problem files and import the data into your solid modeling application. The effort and time required will vary a great deal depending on the number of problems and the size of the IGES file.

Most problem IGES files can be repaired quickly with a little practice. But some can take several days of effort. With Rhino you have the tools to fix the most difficult IGES problems and get on with the job.

Since Rhino is a surface modeler that supports solids, it does not require that the IGES data consist of a closed solid. Rhino will read in as much valid information from the model as it can, skipping corrupt objects, but reading all the point, curve, and surface data. Rhino’s IGES importing process will often read the file and fix the problems automatically. All you have to do then is save it back as a new IGES file and read it into your application. If the repair isn’t automatic, you can use Rhino to replace missing surfaces, fix bad trim curves, smooth surface discontinuities, and export a solid model to your application.

Generally, you can salvage most of the data in the IGES file. Sometimes, there is no choice but to remodel portions of the file. Even in this extreme case, Rhino contains the tools to harvest isoparms, sections, and edge curves that can replace these unusable surfaces while preserving the original design intent.

General strategy

The general strategy in repairing IGES files will vary depending on the individual files. Over time, you will discover patterns of problems in the IGES files produced by specific applications and individual users.

Guidelines for repairing IGES files

  1. Open the IGES file.
  2. Hide or delete extra data - Use the SelDup command to find duplicate entities and move the extra ones to a duplicate layer and turn it off. You may need them later.
  3. Use SelCrv and SelPt to select and Hide the curves and points - Use SelSrf to select all the surfaces and Invert the selection. This will leave any curves and points highlighted. Delete the curves that are not on or near the surfaces. Carefully inspect the remaining curves on the surfaces. These are probably the remains of incomplete trimming curves. Move them to another layer to use later. This will leave only surfaces on the screen.
  4. Shade and visually inspect the model - Does it look like you expected it to? Are there obviously missing surfaces? Do surfaces extend beyond where they should? The trimming curves to fix them may be saved on the layer from step 3.
  5. Check for bad surfaces - The Check and SelBadObjects commands determine if some of the surfaces in the model have problems in their definitions. They may have stacked control points, bad edge curves, or a various other problems. Move these surfaces to a bad surfaces layer to clean up later.
  6. Look at the units and absolute modeling tolerance settings in file properties - Are they reasonable? Most applications that produce IGES files do not match the unit and tolerance settings without user intervention. Rhino does match the settings on export. Free-form surface modeling requires an intelligent compromise in modeling tolerance. NURBS curves are chains of polynomial expression segments joined by knots that carry continuity information between the segments. These segments fit to neighboring curves within the specified modeling tolerance. The tighter the tolerance, the more complex these curves become and system performance suffers. There is no point in calculating high density curve fitting to tolerance values that are not supported by your downstream manufacturing processes.
  7. Join the surfaces - When joining, adjacent edges are tagged as joined if they fit within the specified modeling tolerance. If they are outside the tolerance, they are not joined. Joining does not alter the geometry. It only tags the edges as being close enough to be treated as coincidental. Look at the results on the command line. Did you get as many polysurfaces as you thought you would? Sometimes there are double surfaces after importing an IGES file. Usually, one will be complete and the second one will be missing interior trims. When the join happens, you have no control over which of the two surfaces it will select. If you suspect this has occurred, try joining two naked edges. If there is no nearby naked edge where one should be, undo the join, and select for duplicate surfaces. Delete the less complete surfaces and try the join again.
  8. Check for naked edges - Naked edges are surface edges that aren't joined to other edges. During the join process, they were farther apart than the specified modeling tolerance. This may be from sloppy initial modeling, a misleading tolerance setting in the imported IGES file, or duplicate surfaces. If there are a lot of naked edges showing when you run the ShowNakedEdges command, consider undoing the join and relaxing the absolute tolerance. It is likely that the original modeling was done at a more relaxed tolerance and the exported file setting wasn't true. Note: You can not improve the tolerance fitting between surfaces without substantial remodeling.
  9. Join naked edges or remodel - Joining naked edges is a mixed blessing. It is a trade off and may cause problems downstream. If your reason for joining the edges is for later import as a solid or a meshing operation like making an STL file, the JoinEdge command will not generally cause any problems. If you will be cutting sections and most other curve harvesting operations, the sections will have gaps as they cross edges that were joined outside of tolerance. The gap to be spanned displays before joining. If the gap is less than twice your tolerance setting, you can proceed without worry. If the gap is too wide, consider editing or rebuilding the surfaces to reduce the gap. Join and JoinEdge do not alter the surface geometry. They only tag edges as being coincident within the specified or override tolerance.
  10. Repair the bad surfaces - It's best to repair one bad surface at a time, and join them into the main polysurface as you go. In order of least destructive method to most radical, repair the problems that caused them to fail check by:
    1. Rebuilding edges
    2. Detaching trim curves and retrimming
    3. Rebuilding surfaces
    4. Replacing surfaces - Harvesting edges from surrounding surfaces, cutting sections through bad surfaces, and building replacement surfaces from the collected curves.
  11. Check for bad objects - Sometimes joining surfaces that pass check result in a polysurface that fails check. Generally this is caused by tiny segments in the edge or trimming curves that are shorter than the modeling tolerance. Extract the adjoining surfaces, check them, edit the boundary curves to eliminate these tiny segments, and join them back in. You are finished when you have a closed polysurface that passes check and has no naked edges. As you are joining and fixing surfaces, it is a good idea to run check from time to time as you work.
  12. Export - Now that you have cleaned up and repaired the IGES file, you can export it as IGES, Parasolid, STEP, or ACIS for import into your application. There are differences between these formats. Some applications differ in their support of these formats. Experiment with all that are support by your application to determine the best format for you needs.

Start with a clean file

The old adage, An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure, applies to IGES file transfers too. When possible, spend a little time in the originating application to export a clean file. This will save a great deal of clean-up work later. Unfortunately, this is not always an option. Two common creators of IGES data are CATIA and Pro/Engineer. The following procedures and settings minimize the problems associated with importing IGES data from these applications.

CATIA

Export from CATIA by preparing the model to improve the trimming curves. Here are the procedures one of our customers (Black & Decker/DeWalt) uses in CATIA to minimize their downstream clean up tasks.

1. To prepare the model for transfer, work with the volume:

 SOLID + EXTRACT + VOLUME

2. Clean the model and ignore all extraneous geometry:

 KEEP + SELECT + GEOMETRY + ELEMENT and select the "VOLUME"

3. Recalculate the boundary curves: Bring the old boundaries out of NO-SHOW:

 ERASE + NOSHOW  YES:SWAP. Key in **SPC - **SUR and YES:SWAP to return.

4. ERASE and key in SPC - VOL

5. CURVE1 + BOUNDARY and key in *FAC

6. Run /CLN to check for errors

7. The model is now ready for IGES export.

Pro/Engineer

To optimize export of Pro/E files into Rhino

Use these settings in the Pro/E config.pro file or save them as a rhino.pro file and read it in before exporting.

{@ IGES_OUT_ALL_SRFS_AS 128

IGES_OUT_SPL_CRVS_AS_126 YES

IGES_OUT_SPL_SRFS_AS_128 YES

IGES_OUT_TRIM_XYZ YES

IGES_OUT_MIL_D_28000 NO

IGES_OUT_TRM_SRFS_AS_143 NO

IGES_OUT_TRIM_CURVE_DEVIATION DEFAULT

INTF_OUT_BLANKED_ENTITIES NO

INTF3D_OUT_EXTEND_SURFACE YES

INTF3D_OUT_FORCE_SURF_NORMALS YES

IGES_IN_106_F2_AS_SPLINE NO

IGES_IN_DWG_LINE_FONT YES

IGES_IN_DWG_PNT_ENT YES

IGES_IN_DWG_COLOR YES

FIX_BOUNDARIES_ON_IMPORT YES

Pro/E file exchange

Information about successful exchange of Rhino files with Pro/E.

Softimage file exchange

Information about successful exchange of Rhino files with Softimage.

SOLIDWORKS IGES file exchange

Information about successful exchange of Rhino files with SOLIDWORKS.

rhino/troubleshootingiges.txt · Last modified: 2016/05/13 by sandy